Test dates, fees and locations

The British Council offers IELTS tests in several venues across Singapore three to four times a month. All registrations are handled by the British Council at the Napier Road centre

As places are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis, we strongly recommend that you register at least 5 weeks prior to the test date. 

You will receive a confirmation email five days before the test date confirming the venue for your test and the timetable.

Test Dates in 2016

The tables below show the upcoming test dates in Singapore. We recommend that you register at least 5 weeks before the test date in order to secure your preferred date. 

Test dates available in October - December 2016


Module Test Date Test Venue
Academic & General Training 08 Oct (Sat) LLI, MMS, UWC-E
Academic  22 Oct (Sat) NOV
Academic & General Training 29 Oct (Sat) LLI, UWC-D
Academic & General Training 03 Nov (Thu) LLI, NOV
Academic 05 Nov (Sat) LLI
Academic & General Training 19 Nov (Sat) NOV, TKP-C
Academic 26 Nov (Sat) UWC-E
Academic & General Training 03 Dec (Sat) LLI, NOV
Academic & General Training 10 Dec (Sat) LLI, NOV, RHS 

Click here for location of test venue.

Test dates available in January - March 2017


Module Test Date Test Venue
Academic & General Training 07 Jan (Sat)  NOV, SUN
Academic 14 Jan (Sat) LLI, NOV
Academic & General Training 21 Jan (Sat) NOV, UWC-E 
Academic & General Training 11 Feb (Sat)  
Academic & General Training 16 Feb (Thu)  
Academic 18 Feb (Sat)  
Academic 25 Feb (Sat)  
Academic & General Training 04 Mar (Sat)  
Academic  18 Mar (Sat)  
Academic & General Training 25 Mar (Sat)  

Click here for location of test venue.

If you are applying for a visa to move to or remain in the UK, there’s an IELTS test for you. You can find more information in our IELTS for UK Visas and Immigration section.

Written and Speaking tests

The Listening, Reading, and Writing tests are held on Saturday or Thursday mornings from 0900 to 1230. Candidates arriving after 0850 will not be admitted into the exam room and will not be eligible for refund or transfer.

The Speaking tests are conducted separately from the written components and are held mostly on Saturday afternoons or the following week. The speaking tests are held at the following locations:

Your choice of dates for the Speaking test depends upon availability at the time of application.

For all applications and information requests, please contact the British Council Napier Road centre directly. 

The exam information will be confirmed in the timetable you will receive by email approximately five days before the test date.


The current IELTS test fee is S$340 (inclusive of GST).


We offer the flexibility of selecting your test location when you register for IELTS with us. Get to choose from a wide range of convenient test venues across the island to suit your needs. 

Click here to find a test venue near you.  

A Dedicated Exams Customer Service

We have a dedicated Exams Customer Services team in operation at our Napier Road centre to serve you better. For exams-related enquiries, in-person registration and exam certificate collection, our operating hours are as follows:

Day Operating Hours
Service Peak Hours
Monday - Friday 10.00 - 18.30 12.00 - 14.00 (Mon, Tue, Fri)
Saturday 08.30 - 16.00 11.00 - 15.00

Sundays & Public Holidays


Customers may experience longer waiting times during our service peak hours. Alternatively, email us at sgexamteam@britishcouncil.org.sg for all your exams-related enquiries.